Abstract on Letrozole/Femara and its effect on endometrial receptivity

I want to thank one of the readers for bringing this article to my attention. This is the study that I was accepted into back in June 2010, run by Dr. Bruce Lessey and Dr. Forstein in Greenville, SC.  I went to their office in SC for an endometrial biopsy. Unfortunately I don’t think they were able to use my sample since I oddly didn’t ovulate that cycle, but he did still prescribe the Letrozole/Femara protocol that has gotten me successfully pregnant twice now.

You can read the entire article here.

A few highlights:

BACKGROUND

Our aim was to study ways to improve IVF success rates in women with suspected endometrial receptivity defects.

CONCLUSIONS

Lack of endometrial ανβ3 integrin expression is associated with a poor prognosis for IVF that might be improved with letrozole co-treatment. Prospective studies are needed to confirm and extend these findings but the data suggest that aromatase expression may contribute to implantation failure in some women.

I just wanted to post the whole article. I think its a very interesting read and also worth discussing with your medical provider.

4 thoughts on “Abstract on Letrozole/Femara and its effect on endometrial receptivity

  1. HopefulMomtobe says:

    I have had 9 failed IVF cycles across 2 different doctors. I was just told by my last doctor that implantation failure can be attributed to the lack of the protein discussed. I has all the immunological testing done and all was good on that end. I don’t have endometriosis and my lining is always perfect before transfer. I am considering doing the biopsy once my doctor speaks to Dr. Lessey and gets his advice based on my history of I should pursue. Do you have any info on success rates for multiple cycles that result in BFP after treatment for lack of this beta protein?

    • rowanthefrog says:

      Hi HopefulMomtoBe,

      I’m so sorry to hear about what you have been through. I don’t have any info other than what I have posted, but I think its wonderful that your Doctor is contacting Dr. Lessey as I am sure he will have some information and I truly hope it will help you. Please keep us posted on your progress!

      A

  2. Joleen says:

    I tried your protocol last cycle after suffering my third chemical pregnancy and it did not work for me 😦 We are going to give it one more chance before moving on to the next step. I was so hoping it would work for me… I’m so tired of having hope and being disappointed. This roller coaster is unbearable.

    • rowanthefrog says:

      Joleen,

      I’m so sorry it wasn’t successful for you. Did you not get pregnant or did you have another loss? The roller coaster is horrific, I totally agree. I’m so sorry for what you are going through. I will keep you in my thoughts, please keep us updated.

      A

Leave a Reply

