What tests should I ask for?

I’ve had several people asking for a complete listing of bloodwork to be run to test for various issues that could be causing miscarriage, so I figured I would post it. Most of these are fairly easy tests that your OB can order for you. But some may need to be sent to a special lab, such as MILab in Chicago. Their Implantation Failure Panel was of particular interest to me and I had it run when we were trying for our second child.

Anyway, here is a complete list of tests to ask for. Feel free to bring this to your doctor for discussion.

MTHFR Mutations
Protein C
Protein S
Factor V
Homocysteine levels
ANA HEP2
ANA ML
Prothrombin
ANA ML
Lupus
AT3 Function
Fam Dysautonomia
Toxoplasmosis
Thyroid Panel
Blood Type (of mother)
Anti-phospholipid Antibodies
Anti-cardiolipin Antibodies
Karyotyping (of both parents)
Endometrial Biopsy
Leukocyte Antigen crossmatch and Natural Killer Cells

DQA1 and DQB1 (DQ Matching between mother and father)

2 thoughts on “What tests should I ask for?

  1. Ashley Bowen says:

    Hey there! Your blog has been soooo encouraging! I have had 1 maybe 2 chemical pregnancies and 1 missed miscarriage. The first was a chemical pregnancy in January of this year. The second was in June and I was 7.5 weeks. We saw a heartbeat at 6 weeks and everything looked great. Then I started bleeding at what I though was 10 weeks but the baby had died at 7.5. Then as of yesterday I think I’ve had my 2nd chemical pregnancy. I took 2 faint positive pregnancy tests and then I started bleeding the next day. I just feel so discouraged and so angry at my body. I just want to have a baby to hold. I know I’m gonna have one eventually. I was born to be a mom. Thanks for listening. Congrats on your pregnancy!

    • rowanthefrog says:

      Ashley,

      I’m so sorry to hear what you have been through. It sounds like you have had 3 losses. Has your doctor mentioned having some Recurrent Pregnancy Loss bloodwork run on you? I would highly recommend it. Sometimes OBs don’t quite count chemicals as “real” losses, but I would push for it anyway. Its several simple blood tests to check for a variety of disorders, most of which have very easy solutions. Hopefully your OB will be willing to do that for you. Please keep us posted and I hope your next pregnancy brings a baby into your arms!

      A

Leave a Reply

