One advantage of being “advanced maternal age”

Today is my birthday. I’m now 35 years old, which means I have crossed over that invisible barrier of “advanced maternal age.” Honestly it kind of makes me laugh that all of a sudden I’m at increased risk for all these different things. But, as I learned at yesterday’s appointment, there are some upsides to being “old.” (I use that term lightly…I’m joking, don’t get offended, ok?)

My appointment went well. They did the glucose test early (because of the advanced maternal age thing.) I passed which was good since I had GD when I was pregnant with my oldest son.  I had to write out my entire depressing pregnancy history. They didn’t have enough lines for all my pregnancies. I was in a pretty good mood though, joking through the whole thing.

We finally got to the ultrasound and baby looks perfect. Measuring exactly 7w1d, which is what I am. I saw and HEARD the heartbeat for the first time. What a beautiful noise. Doc said my baby was a “snuggler” since it was nestled so close against the wall it was hard to get the measurements. But everything looked great.

Then we started talking about screening tests. In the past I’ve done the sequential screening test, which is the NT scan and a blood test. But there is a new test out now called the Cell-Free DNA Fetal test. It’s a blood test they run between 10-12 weeks and it tests for all the Trisomys and some other genetic disorders. It has a less than 1% false positive rate, compared to the other screenings available. And…they can tell you the gender!!

Apparently my OB only offers that to women who are of advanced maternal age.  LOL.  So, happy birthday to me, I can find out what this baby is earlier.  I’m a very impatient person, so this was good news. I’m not even going to worry about the genetic disorders. I can’t let myself go down that path, so I’m just going to focus on the upsides of that test and not the REAL reason you take it.

Here are links about the tests:

http://www.ariosadx.com/ and http://www.sequenomcmm.com/Home/health-care-providers/Trisomy-21/About-the-Test.

Anyway, everything looks great. My provider was very nice. She knows how anxious I get and told me that if I wanted to come in for another ultrasound I could. I told  her I was going to try to chill out since everything looks good, but I suspect I will need to take a peek in a few weeks 🙂

I will continue to post occasional updates about my pregnancy.  I’m not going to turn this into a pregnancy blog because that doesn’t feel right to me. But I will continue to check and answer comments so even if you don’t see a recent post from me, I am keeping an eye on the blog and will reply to your comments.

7 thoughts on “One advantage of being “advanced maternal age”

  1. Ksenia says:

    happy birthday! and I am very happy for you

  2. Lynn R says:

    Happy Birthday to You! I will look forward to your updates. So happy for you! Well, right now I am 6dpiui with clomid and trigger. The 2WW is excruciating. Lol. Keeping my fingers crossed. Please take care and post often. ~Lynn

  3. Miranda L. says:

    Happy belated birthday! I’m so glad everything is going well for you!

  4. loftgirl says:

    Hi, I came across your blog researching chemical pregnancies. I took the MaterniT21 test on the recommendation of our doctor – seemed like a win-win. However, we are now being stalked by Sequenom since apparently they think that our insurance paid us directly for the cost of the test, and never reimbursed them. We were told that we would only have to pay a few hundred bucks for the test – but the full cost of the test is much more than that, according to the nasty bills we keep getting from Seqenom. So my advice would be if you are going to get the test, find out what the actual costs will be to you, it may end up being a lot more than you are willing to pay for the more widely-used NT screen.

    • rowanthefrog says:

      Hi Sarah,

      Very good point and thank you for bringing that up. I did check with my insurance company and they do cover it 100% for us. Especially with this test being so new, a lot of insurance companies don’t cover it yet or only cover it partially, so it is definitely important to check for yourself. I hope you can get it straigtened out with Sequenom.

      A

Leave a Reply

