“Official” first OB appointment tomorrow

Because I was an anxious mess, I already managed to have 2 ultrasounds, but tomorrow is my official first OB appointment. They are doing another ultrasound and I’m sure will give me the lecture on avoiding brie, etc. On the whole, I’m still feeling pretty confident about this pregnancy. I have no reason to feel otherwise. No spotting or cramping. I’ve been extremely tired. Thankfully, not too nauseous this time compared to past pregnancies.

Of course, that little voice still creeps in and whispers “what if there is NO heartbeat tomorrow?” But…I think there will be. I just feel good about this whole thing. I will post again tomorrow and let you all know. 

I can’t tell you how much I appreciate your support and well wishes. It means a lot to me. It’s amazing to me that my journey and words have somehow touched so many women. I really did not expect that at all when I started this blog!

4 thoughts on ““Official” first OB appointment tomorrow

  1. Jessica says:

    I am anxious to hear about your appointment!!

  2. Natalie says:

    I’m very happy for you! I conceived #1 on the first attempt with a healthy pregnancy and delivery, but since trying to conceive #2 I just had 2 back-to-back chemical pregnancies. Hormones and ultrasound were totally normal. I read a lot about stress and early miscarriage in my research and I just wondered what your opinions/findings were? Was stress a factor in your life during your chemicals or did you ever suspect it as a cause or contributor? Thanks so much for this blog and congrats again!!

    • rowanthefrog says:

      Natalie,

      Thank you for your well wishes and I’m so sorry to hear about what you have been going through. You know, I honestly don’t remember reading much about stress and early miscarriage during my research, but I just did some googling and read some of the studies. Definitely some interesting reading. I can say that personally, I don’t think I was experiencing any abnormal levels of stress during my pregnancies that miscarried. My anxiety level was quite high, simply due to the fear of miscarrying again, but I was not experiencing high levels of work or personal stress. So, for me, no I don’t think stress was a contributor. That said, we do know that stress can cause all sorts of issues, heart attacks, weight gain, sleep loss, etc. If I have learned anything, I truly believe that a successful pregnancy is nothing short of a miracle. So many things have to go just PERFECTLY at exactly the right time, for everything to work out. I think that if you are experiencing high levels of stress in either your personal or professional life, then it would probably be a good idea to do whatever you can to reduce the stress you are experiencing. I think there would be many benefits to this, hopefully with a successful pregnancy being one of them.

      Keep us posted!

      A

  3. Natalie says:

    Thanks for your reply! We’re taking a month or two off from trying to regroup (and relax) and hopefully the next time around it will work out. I’ll keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

