Still in limbo

This morning’s ultrasound didn’t go as well as I had hoped.  

I’m supposed to be 6w2d based on my period, but I honestly don’t know when I ovulated. I think it might have been a little later than normal. If that’s true then things could be ok.

We could see a yolk sac and “maybe” a baby tucked up next to the endometrium, but she wasn’t sure. She couldn’t zoom in very far. It IS progress from the u/s I had last week, where there was just a sac with nothing in it. But she said she would have liked to see more at this point. She said, “its progress, but you aren’t out of the woods yet.” Blech….I have another u/s in a week…so another week of waiting.  I continue to be uneasy.

 

4 thoughts on “Still in limbo

  1. Ksenia says:

    I just wanted to let you know that I am thinking about you and checking this page every day. I really hope everything turns out into a great pregnancy. I think there are reasons to be positive, right? There is a progress on the ultrasound, your first beta was low, so might be late ovulation implantation. Plus, if they see something in there, it is not a chemical anymore, so not the usual pattern. I am keeping my fingers very crossed for you.

    I myself started testing. A bunch of autoimmune, clotting and thyroid tests came back negative. I am waiting on genetic tests, and there are a few more that I have to do on the 3rd day of my period, but it is actually today and I am traveling. I am scared for genetics to come back bad, but other than that just keep living on.

    Keep us posted. Hugs,
    Ksenia

    • rowanthefrog says:

      Thanks for your positive words Ksenia. I’m trying very hard to focus on the progress that was made but its hard not to prep for the worst. Just a few more days until my next ultrasound.

      I remember waiting for all the testing to come back. Its definitely nervewracking. And of course you don’t really want something to be wrong, but then again part of you does because then you can try to fix it and have a solution. Its a weird place to be in. Let me know what the results say!

      A

  2. Nikki says:

    Thank you for blogging about your journey. I am 35 and have been trying to conceive since March 2012. In April I had my first chemical pregnancy. I became pregnant again in August and suffered another chemical pregnancy. My hcg never rises above 15! I have taken clomid for the past two months and my progesterone levels were slightly lower than normal. The doctor didn’t think it was a concern. This month I am continuing 100 mg of clomid on days 5-9 and now have to take 1 baby aspirin a day “in case” I have a clotting disorder. I also will start to take progesterone supplements 2 dpi “in case” I have a luteal phase defect. My husband has been tested and his numbers are completely normal which means the issue is with me. Do you have any suggestions for me on this journey?

    • rowanthefrog says:

      Hi Nikki,

      I’m so sorry to hear what you have been going through. It can be very tough. Has your doc run any tests on you yet? Typically they wait until you have had 3 losses before they will run the Recurrent Loss panel on you, but it sounds like your doctor may be willing to go ahead and do it if you ask. I would recommend that to start. Clomid is honestly not a drug I’m a fan of. Its sort of the “go-to” drug for most OBs…its one they feel comfortable with. But its risky to take without being monitored and it can thin out your lining which can cause additional issues. I also did the “just in case” baby aspirin and early progesterone supplementation. It can’t hurt. See if you can get the recurrent panel run and what comes back with that. Good luck and keep me posted.

      A

Leave a Reply

