Don’t give up hope

I know I haven’t updated this blog in awhile.  There hasn’t really been much to update.  Over the past several months I have been surprised to see that there have been 50+ hits a day on this blog.  This is somewhat bittersweet news to me.  I’m glad that people are finding this blog and finding all my research to be helpful, but I’m very sad that there are so many women out there that seem to be struggling with something similar to what I went through.

But, I wanted to tell you all – DON’T give up.  The #1 piece of advice I can give you is if your doctor isn’t taking you seriously, find a doctor who will.

On May 1, my miracle son, Elliott, was born.  I am holding him in my arms now as I type with one hand.  I look at him and know that all the doc visits, blood draws, research, tears, and tenacious hope brought him here.

So don’t give up.  If you are here, I hope you find something that leads to a baby in your arms.

17 thoughts on “Don’t give up hope

  1. Littlebird says:

    Congratulations!! He’s beautiful.

    Thanks for the blog-I finally feel like I am in touch with a Doctor who knows what he’s doing. Wouldn’t have found him without your help!

    • rowanthefrog says:

      I’m so glad that you have found a doc who is listening. Please keep me posted on your progress!

  2. torri says:

    You are very right. Dont give up! I had 4 losses before my son and then trying for a second i had 3 more losses…i did IVF/PGD 5 times and tried a last attempt without PGD and transferred 4 embryos. Im happy to say im 27 weeks pregnant with TWINS! I also have a blog chronicling my journey. http://www.torri106.blogspot.com Best of luck to everyone. And congrats on your beautiful baby boy!

    • rowanthefrog says:

      Congrats! I remember your comment from before, I’m so glad that it is finally working out for you and DOUBLE 🙂 What fantastic news!

      A

  3. Susannah says:

    Hello, I wanted to say thank you so much for this blog. I have read through its contents about 10 times since my second chemical pregnancy. I have had 3 chemical pregnancies in 4 months (did not try one month), with betas peaking at 30 or less. I, too, have a son who was conceived without difficulty 2 years ago. Getting pregnant is not hard for us either; we’ve tried 6 times total with 4 pgs. I am so grateful for my son, but want more than anything to expand our family.

    Today I had my first RE appointment at Duke in NC. After reviewing my records, the doc said he thinks this is hormonal and that we will do bloodwork on day 3 of my cycle to check FSH, LH, TSH, estradiol, progesterone. If results come back the way he expects they will, he said I will begin Femara to “produce a stronger ovulation.” He did not mention anything about an endometrial biopsy, and I forgot to ask.

    Would you mind telling me where/what clinic Dr. Lessey practices? I want to bring up your Pregnyl/Femara protocol to my RE.

    Many many congratulations on your beautiful second son. Thank you so much.

    • rowanthefrog says:

      Thank you for your comment and I’m so sorry to hear of your losses. I hate that anyone else has to go through that nightmare. Dr. Lessey is located in Greenville, SC, he is part of the Greenville hospital system. If you google him in Greenville you should find his contact info.

      I would definitely talk to your RE about the Femara/Estradiol/Pregnyl protocol and also ask them to check your uterine lining thickness on day 3, 9, 11 and take Estradiol if you need it. If you have any questions please let me know, I’m always happy to help. Keep me posted on what your RE says and your progress too.

      Best of luck, I hope you get successfully pregnant soon!

      A

  4. Susannah says:

    Thank you for the information! Out of curiosity, I was wondering if any of the doctors you saw had any theories on why your pregnancy with Ethan stuck but none of the others until you started medication? It’s just something I’ve been wondering about my situation as well…whether I just had some perfect fluke of a hormonal cocktail with my son and it hasn’t happened since. Just curious! Sue

    • rowanthefrog says:

      Hi Susannah,

      No, none of the docs knew why Ethan stuck and none of the others did. Maybe my lining was thick enough? But while that was the only diagnosable issue they were able to find, I’m still unsure if that was truly the cause of all my losses. That said, once we thickened things up, I got Elliott, so if it looks like a duck….

      I’m sorry to hear you are going through something similar. I hope you find your “perfect cocktail” again soon. Keep me posted.

      A

  5. Susannah says:

    Thanks! Will keep you posted.

  6. Susannah says:

    Hi there, wanted to give you an update as promised. I’ve had a full antibody workup done and all looks good. My lining looks great. Unfortunately, we found what might be the problem and it is a doozy. My day 3 FSH was 12.5. Just got AMH results yesterday and it is .62, indicating diminished ovarian reserve. Extremely abnormal for a 29 yr old, but there it is. My RE at Duke is still encouraging, says that my age is more important and that if I was 40 this would be much more dire. The plan is to try Femara for the next 3 cycles, to see if that produces a “stronger” ovulation and a pg that sticks. If not, we’ll be moving onto the next step, which might be IVF. Just hoping I still have a few good eggs left in there. I hope all is well with your family and newborn! Susannah

    • rowanthefrog says:

      Susannah,

      Thanks for updating and while I know this is hard news to take, I AM glad that you have an answer, and therefore some possible solutions ahead of you. I really hope Femara does the trick for you, but if not, IVF is a wonderful option and I have many friends with healthy IVF babies. Keep me posted.

      A

  7. Kelli says:

    I found your blog today at just the right moment. I am currently on my 6th pregnancy. I have a beautiful 3 year old….and have had 4 early miscarriages since we started trying when she was 8 months old. I am going in on monday to my RE for my first labs and have been going crazy from the moment I tested positive. Coming to this site has given me hope!

  8. Susannah says:

    Hi Amy, wanted to tell you that I did my 2nd round of Femara 5mg last month and am 10dpo. Got a super faint positive today, my beta this morning was 15. Low, but could be very normal for this early. If you would, please keep me in your thoughts/prayers…I hope more than anything that this is the one that sticks!!! Susannah

  9. Susannah says:

    Hi there, would like to update you but would prefer to do it via email…don’t see an address on here so if you would, email me at suemagoo18 at gmail dot com and I can write you back. Thank you!

  10. Gemma says:

    Congratulations just came across your blog and it gives me hope after the last 4 years of trying to conceive after the birth of my daughter I also have had four chemical pregnacies I found out I was pregnant a few days ago 10 dpo but I’m starting to think its going to chemical due to the test lines not getting any darker symtoms fading already. I suffer with endometriosis and after reading your blog you have have giving me hope 😉

    • rowanthefrog says:

      Gemma,

      I’m so sorry to hear what you have been through. Its been a few days since you posted this comment, I truly hope that you had a good outcome. I’m glad you found some hope here. Please keep us posted on your progress!

      A

Leave a Reply

