A long awaited update

Well, it looks like there is some good news at the end of this tunnel.  I’m pregnant.  Almost 10 weeks now, which as you know if you are reading this is far past the “chemical pregnancy” stage which is a huge relief for me.  I’m not quite out of the woods yet, but close.

Last time I updated I was waiting to take the booster shot.  I took that 7 days past the trigger shot (5 days past ovulation.)  I think it was a Tuesday.  On Friday I took a cheapie pregnancy test just to see how much of the booster shot was still in my system and got a pretty dark line.  On Sunday I took another test and got a barely visible line, so I figured by Monday it would all be out of my system.  I tested on Monday and the line was still there, and….dare I say, a bit darker than yesterday’s.  Not quite believing it, I tested again on Tuesday and got an even darker line.  I decided this was enough to warrant a beta draw, which came back that day at 41.6.  The lines kept getting darker.  Two days later my beta draw was 144!!! It was doubling! 4 days later it was up to 822 and 4 days later it was 3173!!  It was FINALLY sticking.  Here is picture of the lines getting darker.  I’m not going to post it directly on the blog because I know these pics can be a source of pain for some people, so I want you to have the option to click on it if you want.

At 6.5 weeks I went for my 1st ultrasound and saw the most beautiful flicker ever….a tiny little heartbeat.  Also, the baby was measuring ahead which was a nice little bonus.

Due to being high risk, I received weekly ultrasounds through 9 weeks and all 3 of them showed the baby growing at a normal rate with a heartbeat.

So, that’s where we are today.  I’ll be 10 weeks in 2 days.  I’m still nervous, but its not a chemical pregnancy which is HUGE for me.

The things that I think really made the difference was 1) getting my lining nice and thick.  I don’t know what the final number was, but it was 7.5mm and I took 2 more days of Estradiol, vaginally so I think it was probably 9-10mm or more.  The second thing I think really helped was the Pregnyl shot 5 days past ovulation.  I think having some HCG in my system probably gave the implanting embryo a little more hormonal support.

Anyway, I hope this information has helped someone out there.  I am not going to turn this into a pregnancy blog because I know that if you are here, that is the last thing you want to see.  I would love to hear more stories from others of you who have gone through this, and if you are comfortable, I would like to post them on this blog.  I really hope that this eventually becomes a resource for women who are going through this pain.  I’m happy that it looks like there is a happy ending for me, and I hope that if you are reading this then there is a happy ending for you too…and soon.

 

18 thoughts on “A long awaited update

  1. Char says:

    Congrats on your pregnancy! I’m SO glad to have found this blog, as I’m going through exactly the same thing. I got married about 10 months ago, and since then, I’ve had one pregnancy that terminated at 13 weeks (the baby had stopped growing at 7 weeks but we hadn’t detected it), and *every month* aside from that time period, I’ve had a chemical pregnancy. Faint positive on day 9 or 10, negative by day 14.

    I’m going to an RE who put me on progesterone, aspirin and supplemental folic acid, but it’s done nothing so far. Now he wants me to try clomid. However, I’ve been doing some research, and the lining issue keeps coming up, so I’m going to ask him about that tomorrow. The bleeding I’ve had gets lighter each month, which makes me think the lining might not be replenishing.

    I love your first post about what people are telling you to do, as I’m getting the exact same thing. My favorite is “don’t take a pregnancy test that early”… like, ok, my stomach gets bloated, I can’t be around cooked meat and I’m sleepy all day, but I’ll just ignore that till day 15. Um, no.

    I wish I lived near SC so I could go to your doctor. Honestly, blogs like this make me want to fly in to see him!

    Thanks again!

  2. Meghan says:

    I just wanted to say thank you so much for your very informative, in depth, wonderful blog. I experienced miscarriage number 3 last week. Like you I get pregnant every month and every month I lose it. I have two children that are 6 and 7 and before august 2011 I had never had a miscarriage.

    It is incredibly reassuring to read your thoughtful blog and to know that inquisitive, determined people are out there pushing for answers.

    I am going to the doctor today in hopes of starting the path to my solution. Thank you again.

  3. Hadley says:

    Congratulations and thank you so much for this blog! I am just going through my second chemical pregnancy. My husband and I just started trying to conceive in November. I got pregnant the first month we tried, then lost it; saw a reproductive endocrinologist who diagnosed me with PCOS (I saw him right away because I had very little bleeding with the CP, and I just am proactive generally and thought that might be a bad sign)… he said everything basically seemed fine other than mild PCOS, and to keep trying. After one anovulatory cycle we tried again, and much to my surprise, I got two positive pregnancy tests about 10 dpo. But then negative ones. And just got the negative beta HCG from the doc today (started my “period” yesterday). Sad and frustrated, but feel weird because no one treats it like a real miscarriage (even me, in some ways…. I feel so sorry for friends of mine who have later miscarriages). But I am worried about future pregnancies. Anyhow, just started reading your blog and am SO grateful for the information. I think you’re absolutely right – because they are so common, no one has any real info on them / takes them seriously…. but more than 1 or 2 in a row is something to pay attention to. Thank you for the blog and congrats on your success! Please cross your fingers for me! 🙂

    • rowanthefrog says:

      I”m so sorry to hear what you are going through. I hope that this one is your last and your next one is successful. I think its great you are being proactive, sometimes you need to fight for yourself. In the end, no one cares as much about you getting successfully pregnant as you. I hope your doc is willing to dig deeper and maybe prescribe some stuff to give you a better chance, if not, find another one. Fingers, toes, everything crossed for you. Please update me on your progress!

      A

  4. deepa says:

    Hi, i have gone through your blog and is really relaxing and hoping since i am going through the same.
    i have had 4 m/c, and have done all tests.
    But , doctor didnt point out this uterine line issue. can i ask for this to doctor?

    And what is this booster shot?

    Waiting for your comments…

    • rowanthefrog says:

      Hi Deepa,

      It is very easy for them to check your uterine lining. Around day 9-12 of your cycle they can do an ultrasound to measure the thickness of your lining. Ideally your lining should be between 8-15mm and “triple striped.” That means you have a nice, healthy lining, ready for an embryo to implant. At my worst I have had a lining of 1.5mm, which certainly could have explained my early losses, nothing to stick to. The best indicator of a thin lining is having very light periods. Taking Estradiol/Estrogen on days 9-13 of your cycle can thicken up a thin lining very quickly.

      The booster shot is simply 5000u of HCG, the pregnancy hormone. One of my REs likes to do this 7 days after you receive a positive OPK (approximately 5 days past ovulation). It pumps a lot of the pregnancy hormone into your system as your embryo is trying to implant, hopefully giving it some extra hormonal support. Who knows if that was the magic ticket, but twice I’ve done it now and twice I’ve made it past the early m/c mark, so I think that it bodes well.

      Let me know if you have any additional questions.

  5. Ashley says:

    Did your doctor have you on any treatments/medication after you had the positive pregnancy test?

    • rowanthefrog says:

      Hi Ashley,

      Just Progesterone. At first I was taking progesterone cream, then I was on 100mg of Prometrium, twice daily, until 10 weeks.

  6. Carol says:

    5. Five early pregnancy losses in under 4 years and the doctors cannot figure out what is wrong with me. They just want to shove me in with the infertile group and force IVF on me. Thousands of dollars worth of testing done and one fibroid surgery later and still no baby. I wish I could see your doctor. I wish I could find a doctor who cared and wanted to find out what was wrong with me. I turn 38 next week so I’m basically too old on top of everything else for the doctors to even bother with me – just a lost cause. It’s so frustrating not being able to make this happen. I’m glad someone out there was able to wade through and force the attention of the medical professionals and have a happy ending! Congrats to you.

    • rowanthefrog says:

      Carol,

      I’m so sorry to hear what you have been through and that you have been unable to find a medical professional willing to help you. They tend to want to jump to IVF because it gives them the most control over the process. But the high price tag and no guarantee is understandably quite daunting. I think you read the protocol that ultimately worked for me, is it something that you could discuss with your doctor? It is easy, very low risk and quite inexpensive compared to IVF/IUI etc. If your doctor isn’t willing to listen, you may want to contact Dr. Bruce Lessey in Greenville, SC. 864-455-5939. He consulted with me remotely and he may be willing to do the same with you. He was the one who prescribed the protocol that has been successful for me twice now.

      Best of luck and please keep us posted.

      A

  7. MF Clement says:

    Hi, first I’d like to thank you so very much for your blog. I’m going through something very similar and your blog is helping me in many ways, including emotionally. Your bog has encouraged me to do my own research and take matters into my own hands, like you. So thank You. Very glad it all worked out for you and that you now have a beautiful family of 5!

    I have a question regarding your treatment, the one that worked… The days you took the estrogen (Estradiol) and the 2x HCG shots, was it very precise? Meaning did they do an ultrasound to see when exactly you were ovulating and when exactly you could take the medication? Or did you simply approximate it with your cycle: day 9 start Estradiol for 5 days, HCG shot on ovulation day, and booster shot 5 days later? Please let me know if you have a chance. Thank you!

    MF

    • rowanthefrog says:

      Hi MF,

      I’m so sorry for your losses and I’m glad you are finding some answers here.

      re: your questions – the first time I used the protocol I did have an ultrasound to see my follicles and I took ovulation tests to determine when I would ovulate and then took the first HCG shot when I got the positive ovulation test and took the second HCG shot 7 days afterwards. I took the Estradiol when I saw how thin my lining was at cycle day 9. It worked and I conceived my second son.

      The next time I tried the protocol I did not get pregnant, but the third time I tried it I did get pregnant. That time I didn’t have an ultrasound but I did use an OPK to detect my LH surge and followed the protocol from there.

      I hope that helps. Best of luck to you.

      A

      • MF Clement says:

        Thank you! I’ll bring it up with my RE next time I meet with her. Not sure she’ll agree to try it – but it’s worth a try!

  8. Laisie says:

    Thank you for your story i am on my 6 miscarriage 2 doctors and nobody takes me serously but your story give me hope

    • rowanthefrog says:

      Laisie,

      I’m so glad you found some hope on my blog. I hope your next pregnancy brings a sweet baby into your arms.

      A

  9. Gina says:

    I love this blog (even though it is old). So much information. I have had 4 chemicals in the last year and am about to seek help finally. Your blog gives me so much hope. Thank you!

  10. Brittany P. says:

    I sit here crying happy tears for you and hoping I can have that same kind of joy. I’m currently enduring my 4th chemical miscarriage in the last year. My husband and I have never had a successful pregnancy and we have done every blood test and imaging study you could imagine. The only thing I haven’t done is have my lining thickness tested or have a biopsy to check for endometriosis. This miscarriage has been the hardest yet and I feel so angry, discouraged and defeated. Your blog has given me new hope. I am going to talk to my doctor about the plan you went to with and see if it’s something I can try. I can’t imagine getting a beta hcg test back with results over 50 or hearing my baby’s heartbeat. I so hope we can have the same outcome as you. Thank you so much for sharing your story and every step in your journey!

  11. Bajana says:

    Thanks, this has helped tremendously, I will discuss your protocol with my dr. I hope they are open minded, like so many women I feel forced into the IVF route…no guarantees, and too expensive to be a realistic option for us. Hubby and I have been trying for about 4 yrs now, I am at 9 very early losses….2 of which were ectopic. I feel like if I hit double digits its time to give up. I will try your method and pray it works. Like you I have been tested into oblivion but I have a gut feeling its my lining…my losses occur so early and so frequently. Thanks again, you have given me a glimmer of hope.

Leave a Reply

